Sweet Sugar Cookies

I so looooovvve good food.  I like to cook and bake and I’m decent at it.  My kids might think I’m a little bit obsessed, but they haven’t read Julia Child’s “My Life in France” or thumbed through any of Ina Garten’s cookbooks, or have read any of the 10 thousand seriously-food-obsessed blogs.  I pale in comparison, am aware of my feeble attempts… but rest in the reflection of     how     far    I’ve    come.

I am a mom who likes to eat whole food (like butter and sugar) and feels deep within my soul the value of good, homemade meals.  There will definitely be some nutrition articles on this blog and lots of recipes.

But I am first and foremost, a baker.  I have a sweettooth.  Not for candy- blaaach.  But for baked goods like pie and coconut pecan lime bars.  So today, I’d like to share a very special recipe with you.  A FAVORITE recipe of mine.  One that I could take to the bank.  And just in time for Valentine’s… or St. Patrick’s, Christmas, Halloween,  Good Friday…..

Sweet Sugar Cookies

1 cup sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup butter

1 cup oil

2 eggs

Cream together the above.  ( I know! butter AND oil….)

4 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cream of tartar

½ tsp. salt

¼ t. nutmeg

½ t. lemon extract

2 tsp. vanilla

Mix the flour, baking soda, cream of tarter, nutmeg, and salt in another bowl with a fork or sifter.  (you know you always do this with the “dry” ingredients, right?!)

Then add the flour mixture with the butter mixture until combined , then add vanilla and lemon extract.  You now have a soft, shiny dough.  You can either roll into balls, roll those balls in sugar and press flat with  the butt of a glass cup  OR you can roll the dough out to use with cookie cutters.  This dough is a little wetter than most, so you have to be more careful and attentive to the rolling out.  Most times, I grab a chunk and press out with my hands, then roll the pin over to get rid of my finger marks.  (did you forget to wash your hands?)

Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Don’t brown, should be light. Cook longer for crunchier, shorter for softer. Frost after they have been cooled.

I’ve never had a better sugar cookie. Make sure when you try them for the first time that you have not eaten any dough (don’t want to blunt your appetite) and that you wait til they have cooled and maybe sat for an hour or so, and you have frosted them.  Make sure your palette is perfectly clear and you are ready for something sweetly delicious and so delicately buttery with  a tiny bit more depth than you might have thought a sugar cookie could offer.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sweet Sugar Cookies

  1. Todd says:

    Sadly, in the midst of all the wonderful bakery-esque creations that I enjoy in our kitchen, I really do not like Sugar cookies.

    What’s a boy to do?

  2. Claire says:

    We are making these this weekend! I love your blog!

  3. Lisa says:

    Todd, that is sad.

    Lynley, I love sugar cookies. If Todd doesn’t want them, I’m always willing to eat his. Belle said you made great cookies today for the class party.

    Love the new blog. I read the whole FB article and almost all of your posts thus far. I love a good blog. Thanks for sharing. I’m excited to see more.

  4. Jaclyn says:

    I have to agree with Todd- I’ve never been a sugar cookie fan either and therefore never make them. I know, I’m a bad mother. Is this recipe REALLY worth the effort, even if you’re not a sugar cookie fan?

    • lynnley says:

      Hmmm… I’m a HUGE SUGAR COOKIE FAN, so YES it’s worth the effort. But as you can see, I’m biased. It would be my hope that you just haven’t had a decent sugar cookie.

  5. Jenna says:

    Wouldn’t you know, I just spent the weekend rolling the dough, pressing the cutter and spreading the pink frosting only to find out THERE’S A BETTER SUGAR COOKIE RECIPE! Why oh why could I have not checked my email earlier and discovered your marvelous blog?!! Seriously Lyn, your blog is marvelous and I love reading your entries. You know what’s funny, my first introduction to Saudi Arabia was the peanut butter story. I don’t even remember us being in the same troop, but I remember that story. It often flashes in my mind when I’m buying peanut butter. Thank goodness for sealed jars and thank goodness for New Years resolutions.

    Love that you’re doing this. It’s fun to read your random and intelligent thoughts. I have to say I’m glad you’re not a celebrity (at least not yet). I don’t think you could pass up the glamor and lavicous life style. It’s a blessing, truly it is.

    • lynnley says:

      And they are darling sugar cookies- just saw them upstairs. And tell Eden her glittery heart is sparkling like 10,000 diamonds in the Utah sun.
      Thanks for reading- I love to hear from you.
      Did you really say that you don’t remember us being in the same troop?! For like a year or two! Remember tromping up and down Farmington’s streets with Thin Mints in the wagon, and using our cookie money to go to Lagoon? And the Easter eggs made out of string? But that is funny that you remember the peanutbutter story too. It is so strange what we remember out of all the things that happen to us in life.
      I’m glad I’m not a celebrity either- yes, I’d probably be spiraling out of control….

  6. Danelle says:

    I am indeed a huge sugar cookie fan. I will be trying this recipe, but alas I am all sugar cookied out from the Valentine holiday. Thanks for letting us in on your blog. I too loved In the Land of Invisible Women. It took me forever to read, and usually a book I can’t get through quickly gets put back on the shelf. But I found the story too interesting to quit. Keep the books coming, I always need a good read.

Leave a comment